Oh hey guys. A post here after like what…a fortnight? (whatever.)

I’m pretty happy and upbeat after I managed to secure a single username across 6 different social networking sites. I achieved it, whoa.

Okay, not exactly an achievement but you have to factor in some math and only then you’ll comprehend my luck’s role in this conquest!

A billion and a half Facebook users. ~400 million LinkedIn users. 316 million Twitter users. ~300 million instagram users. ~67 million IMDb users. None of them, NONE thought of this username: /Abhiminator.

Pretty cool, right?

It’s basically a mixture of two words. Abhishek (my first name :p) and Terminator, from one of my favorite movies, The Judgement Day. Abhi+minator = Unification.

You may ask, what’s the big deal?

Well, firstly, it helps in SEO and SMO (Search engine and Social media optimization) which makes it easier for search engines and people alike to identify me across networks better. This basically means I’m much more uniformly visible online and search engine’s indexing will always point the keyword “Abhiminator” to my sites and profile. Kewl.

Secondly, it has a kind of brand effect across platforms. For example, IKEA‘s logo and name stay consistent across different networks, right? Same goes for internet celebrities like MKBHD etc. What this results in is, a brand consistency. People are more likely to remember you if you have the same parameters across different networks. A username is one such important parameter.

Now look, I’m not trying to imply that I’m planning to make myself into a big brand of sorts, nope, that’s not the case here. I’ve simple helped those poor Google, Bing, <insert random SE>’s web crawlers to identify me more easily and helped their Machine Learning algorithm to take it a little more easy.

So yeah. This was just a mini to share my achievement (and insane luck) to conquer a unified username across network (so much for brand unification).

BTW, I finally saw The Martian, after a long fucking wait. Next post is on that. So watch out 🙂

Be sure to follow me across networks:

Facebook: /Abhiminator

Twitter: @Abhiminator

LinkedIn: /Abhiminator

IMDb: /Abhiminator

Flickr: /Abhiminator

Kewl.

Keep checkin’ for The Martian update!

Comments

