Sheky Rambles v2.0.

I started this blog just under a year ago. And, for that time period, blog’s design served you readers well.

However, when I reviewed the design and element placements, I realized it was not cohesive and was a little off of what many people expect from a blog. I realized that it’s super important to put content before the author, the stuff before the creator.

Thus, keeping these issues in view, I redesigned my blog groundup. This operation took a little over 3 hours.

  • I installed a brand new theme “Franklin” which gives a fresh and crisp new look to the blog.
  • I redesigned the primary navigation menu which now has Article Categorization for easy access to topics.
  • I recategorized every article into the lowest common denominator of topic. For example, the article on 9/11 comes under “Events” and “Politics” instead of many dozens of categories. Tags serve that purpose well.
  • The biggest change can be seen in the sidebar. Added a new follow button which makes it extremely easy for new readers to subscribe and be in the loop via email. Archives comes below that, for easy access to article history — this in addition to the Topic wise segregation on the primary menu bar. Below that, I’ve included the latest posts widget, so that it makes it easier to access the recent article history.
  • I’ve also included a search bar at the bottom of the page to help in keyword hunting.
  • Updated the blog with header and footer menus. Just to extend the usability. Also included shortcuts to my social media profile(s), for those interested in following me. Also included a copyright logo (which was missing before).

Apart from all these, I’ve also decided to use less ‘f-words’ and focus more on the content instead of using those words to add cheap meaning to the context. Yes, quality refinements are assured.

Also, I’ve updated the tagline: “Curiosity inducing posts!”.

I will try every bit to live up to that line.

Also, I made a number of under the hood changes which will make it more easier for me to move the entire blog to a new, permanent domain in the near future. They are largely invisible to general users.

Finally, I’d like to THANK every one of you, people I know and also random strangers across the internet who’ve connected with me and have encouraged me to keep writing.

I also assure you that I will stick to my posting frequency, which currently is about once in every ~15 days, fortnightly.

Expect The Martian review soon.

🙂

Comments

