It’s time.

So, I open my browser. Hit up reddit. Fuck around there for a while. And while scrolling, I find a post about Time. The perspective of time.

That got me thinking. Time. It’s something we all have in equal amounts, mathematically at least. 24 hours. One complete rotation of Planet Earth. The one which we currently inhabit.

You feel me?

Last time I posted on this blog was on June 5th, 2016. 106 days have passed since that post. Almost 1/3 of a year. That’s a long time. But it feels like it was just yesterday.

It’s all in the perception, they say.

Time is one of humanity’s greatest fallacy. People say there is always a tomorrow. When I say people, I’m also included. There’s always a tomorrow. We can always get it done someday. Right?

But, what most people don’t realize (and certainly I did not), this habituation of telling to to oneself that there is always a tomorrow creates a neural loop in the brain that fuels the fallacy even more.

As the time goes on, this neural loop only gets stronger and stronger until one loses perspective.

You may feel things look familiar. In fact, they are. That habitual loop is called procrastination. It’s one of Humanity’s greatest curses. The Internet, as useful as it may be, is a massive bottomless pit for the wandering minds.

Procrastination, contrary to most beliefs, is not binary. It’s not like, “This guy procrastinates” and “This guy doesn’t procrastinate”. It’s more of a spectrum.

Reality is, everyone does. Even Elon Musk. The person I admire and so do millions.

Tim Urban of WaitButWhy beautifully explained procrastination and it’s ties to our evolutionary history in his post, way back in 2013. I read that post a week after it was out and at that time I was in my 12th grade. I then had eureka moment of finally cracking the Procrastination puzzle. I thought I had the answer, I thought reading Tim’s post would be the final nail in my procrastination coffin.

As it turns out. There is a difference, a MASSIVE difference in knowing something and deliberately acting on it.

The bottomline is. We all have aspirations. We all have dreams. We all want to advance, grow, develop, *more adjectives*, but our evolutionary circuits make it super hard. Advertising only works to break our resistance and give into temptation.

Signed up for diet plan? Here’s a big fucking billboard, OMG OMG McDonald’s happy hour is on, can’t miss it!

Anyway, the point of the post is not to educate you. In fact, I haven’t even structured the post in such a way. This is more sort of a rant. A rant about Time, Procrastination and Evolution. As brief as it may be, it certainly helped my synapses to offload some cognitive stress.

With that said, there’s more.

Updated my blog’s theme to match my shift in perspective. Less visual, more text.

Internet today is all about grabbing eyeballs. As much as you can, just hold reader’s attention until he clicks on that Ad. Most blog posts (especially sites like BuzzFeed/similar shitty sites) are 90% unrelated pictures/gifs/ads and 10% content (you should be very lucky to find even that).

My inspiration came from one of my favorite blog of all time. Zen habits.

It’s an incredible blog. Clean as fuck. 100% content. Nothing else. It’s the true definition of WYSIWYG.

That’s about it for now.

And, I am not going to make any posting promises.

Abhishek. :3

Comments

