Going Vegan all the way…

This is a Guest post on experimentation with Vegan diet!

This is the guest post that I promised in my last post, in here. This is written by a friend of mine who also happens to be a Health and Fitness aficionado. Enjoy…

The Vegan way!

I think the one thing that went well this year was my relationship with my body. I have never felt this comfortable, this fascinated, and this excited to be myself as I have been for the past few months. Vegan diet has been the driving force behind this transformation!

I posted about this a while ago (in my personal journal) that I was going ‘Raw’. Meaning I would only eat raw foods, like Fruits and vegetables (raw f&v). I kind of kept it up for a few weeks, but then I was at home, where my mother lives; and to make her accept the fact that what they’ve been feeding us, and eating herself, for her entire life, was basically ‘shit’, is a little tough; but I’ve managed.

After my internship ended, I moved (finally), into my own PG (kinda like a Dorm room with much more independence), where I got to make my own food. The problem was that now I had to buy my own food, which was kind of a big deal, because our college is sort of ‘between’ two cities, and it takes a while to get to the city, buy, and then wash all the f&v, every other day, while going to college, working on a startup, and trying to become a web developer, especially during exams. I actually did all that for about three weeks, before I had to admit, the awesomeness I experienced while having those salads, was actually not worth my future, so I had to change. I also started eating boiled stuff like eggs, and potatoes at this point.

The third phase was interesting because it lasted a pretty long time. I would have potatoes (6-7), and eggs (6) everyday, along with a small salad I’d put together. I’d get so hungry, that I’d settle for milk and Parle-G, hoping It’ll be alright, the diet is perfect (It was not, I was was having only about 1100-1200 calories). Adding rice to the equation, was when it started to become a bit normal. Like, the calorie count would easily go toward 2000, which is a healthy place to be (If you’re exercising as regularly as I was). I’d then simply add the potatoes to the rice (plus soya balls), and have just two meals: a bowl of rice, and 6 eggs + salad. This is the part that made it all okay.

1280px-oatmeal2c_blueberries_and_almond_milk
“I had oats for breakfast, and soya balls completely replaced potatoes”

The last part that I resorted to was after Demonetization. I basically bought my potatoes, and my eggs, and my fruits and veggies with cash, and suddenly, cash couldn’t be used. So, instead of resorting to chaos, I had to take my tactic to something that wasn’t as bad as cooking something, or eat ready-made food, but good enough to still be healthy. That led me break my one promise: minimize the milk and sugar. I had oats for breakfast, and soya balls completely replaced potatoes. My advice is to not go for oats unless you’re boiling them in water, adding fruits to it, and honey to substitute the sugar.

In closing, what I would say regarding getting healthier is that, it was more difficult to convince other people to stop feeding me ‘shit’ than it was for me to stop eating it myself. I literally had to have a stomach ache for a week before my aunt finally realized that: ‘Chole Puri’ is bad for health; so is rajma, or kheer, or sabzi (the f’up of version of vegetables), or anything that basically comes out of a packet, or has been cooked with oil!

I have developed a love for fresh food, and I cannot comprehend why I ever chose candy over fruits, or even chocolates for that matter. The goodness I feel emanating from the inside is priceless and I’d advice anyone who’s out there hating themselves for how they look or feel: CHANGE YOUR DIET.

Paritosh Mehta.

More resources to check out!

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Sheky Rambles and/or the publisher.

All images used are under CC license, unless stated otherwise.

 

Comments

